New season

Elisabeth Leonskaja  piano
Frans Helmerson  cello 
Streichquartett der Staatskapelle Berlin 

Elisabeth Leonskaja is in good company on the second stage of her journey with Schubert with two quintets echoing the trios of the previous day.

Elisabeth Leonskaja
Elisabeth Leonskaja © Julia Wesely
Frans Helmerson
Frans Helmerson - DR
Streichquartett Berlin
Streichquartett Berlin - DR


Schubert Cycle II
Quintet D. 667 « The Trout »
Quintet for two cellos op. posth. 163 D. 956

Approximate running time
1st part: 40mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 45mn

One of Schubert’s best-known scores, The Trout quintet, is a true ode to joy in a major key suffused with sunshine. It explores a virtually unique instrumental formation and the five-movement divertimento form, whose freedom of expression is a direct descendant of the Lied. By contrast, the Quintet in C, written for a string quartet with additional cello, is one of Schubert’s darkest and most poignant works. It was completed two months before the musician’s death and premiered posthumously. Two magnificent facets of chamber music composition by this Romantic genius.

Coproduction Piano**** / Théâtre des Champs-Elysées