New season

Elisabeth Leonskaja  piano
Liza Ferschtman  violin
Jakob Koranyi  cello 

Elisabeth Leonskaja is in good company on the first stage of her journey with Schubert with the two trios for piano and strings.

Elisabeth Leonskaja
Elisabeth Leonskaja © Julia Wesely
Liza Ferschtman
Liza Ferschtman © Marco Borggreve
Jakob Koranyi
Jakob Koranyi © Anna Lena Ahlstrom


Schubert Cycle I
Trio for piano and strings No. 1 D. 898
Trio for piano and strings No. 2 D. 929

Approximate running time
1st part: 40mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 50mn

Schubert composed his two major trios for the traditional piano-violin-cello formation late in his career; these two outstanding pieces reflect the maturity of the musician’s art and have justly earned him a place in the trio Hall of Fame not far behind Beethoven, Schumann and Brahms. Composed in close succession in the summer and autumn of 1827 respectively, they both adopt the traditional four-movement form, but the second trio is characterised from the very outset by its lyrical power and more highly developed sense of formal freedom.

Coproduction Piano**** / Théâtre des Champs-Elysées


Elisabeth Leonskaja Schubert