New season

Stabat Mater

Giovanni Battista Pergolesi

Two masters of baroque sacred writing explore the same lament in two masterpieces of heightened emotion.

Véronique Gens et Marie-Nicole Lemieux
Véronique Gens © Sandrine Expilly et Marie-Nicole Lemieux © Geneviève Lesueur


Véronique Gens soprano
Marie-Nicole Lemieux contralto

Thibault Noally direction and violin
Les Accents 

Opening the concert 
A. Scarlatti
Salve Regina
Violin Concerto RV. 275
Stabat Mater RV. 621

Approximate running time
1st part: 45mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 45mn

Two fine voices come together for this evening setting in perspective two baroque works composed around the same theme of the suffering of Mary at the foot of the cross on which her son was sacrificed. Alessandro Scarlatti’s version, which was commissioned by the brotherhood of the Knights of the Virgin of Sorrows, dates from 1724 and showcases the vocal and musical tradition of Naples of which the musician was one of the finest exponents. Pergolese’s work was written twelve years later and is authentic, although many apocryphal works were attributed to the composer after his death, but little is known about its genesis. This poignant work by a musician who died tragically young at the age of 26 gave rise to a legend reminiscent of Mozart’s Requiem. Tradition has it that the composer finished it on his death bed. The reality appears to have been somewhat more prosaic. This famous work, which was heavily published and frequently performed in the 18th century, significantly enhanced the composer’s posthumous fame.

Production Les Grandes Voix 


Stabat Mater

Stabat Mater A work with many adaptations

Véronique Gens

A town By Véronique Gens